Home > Risk > I am in shock

I am in shock

I rarely write about the company I work for, my personal life, or my beliefs.
But, SAP has just done something truly amazing. They released a movie that you can see here.

The movie shows the grieving patents of a young gay man that in desperation took his own life. It then interviews a number of SAP employees (including at least one I know) about their experiences.

Not only does SAP make and release this movie with a message of hope for all young gays, but the movie includes words from one of the company’s co-CEOs, and two executives from the Palo Alto office.

I am not gay, but that does not stop me feeling for the young people who face adversity (as so clearly shown in the film) because they are born with a different orientation.

I am in shock that a corporate giant made this movie, and very proud to be one of their 60,000 employees.

  1. Cara
    June 7, 2012 at 12:12 PM

    Thank you for posting this. I’ve been following your blog for over a year now, and this just makes me want to continue doing so for a long time! Bravo to SAP as well.

  2. Stephanie
    June 7, 2012 at 9:38 PM

    Norman, thank you for sharing this and reminding us of what is really important in life. Good on you SAP!

  3. June 8, 2012 at 1:26 AM

    Norman, thanks for sharing this. A great news story and a good sign that diversity and tolerance are becoming better established in the corporate world.

  4. June 8, 2012 at 4:37 PM

    Norman, your articles are truly enlightening. They have for over a year contributed to my business knowledge. Great to see SAP, a premier company which I admire, so well represented. Thank you.

  5. June 8, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    thank you Norman! i’m honored to be your colleague.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

