Home > Audit, Compliance, Governance, GRC, Risk, Sarbanes, SOX > How Good is your GRC? Twelve Questions to Guide Executives, Boards, and Practitioners

How Good is your GRC? Twelve Questions to Guide Executives, Boards, and Practitioners

Anyone who has been reading my posts should know that I have concerns about the way people are misusing the term GRC. In my April post, I closed with:

So here’s my recommendation to all: stop talking about GRC and start talking the language of the business. Let’s talk about how we can increase value to stakeholders, address potential obstacles and seize opportunities to excel, act with integrity and remain in compliance with current and anticipated regulations, and manage the organization to success.

So how do we move forward?

It is important to get each part of the business working well. But it is also important that they work together. We don’t want fragmented operations that operate in silos.

How can an organization’s board, executives, or internal auditors determine whether their different activities (such as strategy, performance, and risk management) are working together, in harmony, for the optimization of performance while acting with integrity?

I have a new e-book, How Good is your GRC? Twelve Questions to Guide Executives, Boards, and Practitioners. It consolidates my thinking about what GRC means and the business problem it represents (the failure to have the various pieces work together in harmony). I include twelve questions, with discussion, that you can use within your organization in a discussion or assessment process.

I welcome your thoughts and comments, and hope that you find the e-book useful.

By the way, if you don’t have a Kindle you can still read the e-book on your PC by downloading Amazon’s Kindle for PC.

  1. debbie
    June 9, 2014 at 8:36 AM

    it looks interesting but I am falling at the first hurdle…no obvious link on the kindle page to download it to my PC (Kindle registered). am I missing something?

  2. Norman Marks
    June 9, 2014 at 8:49 AM

    Debbie, if you don’t have a Kindle you can download the PC app using the link I provided. If you have an iPad, there is a free Kindle app for it as well.

    Once you have the Kindle app installed, you should be able to go to the e-book and purchase it. There is a drop-down menu that asks where you want the e-book to be sent.

    Let me know if you still have a problem.

    • debbie
      June 9, 2014 at 2:02 PM

      yes I already have the PC app…but no drop down menu appearing. if I do it from Amazon UK (where I am) it wants to charge me £6.99!

  3. Norman Marks
    June 9, 2014 at 2:55 PM

    Debbie, if you go to the link to the e-book, there is a menu in the area where you click to buy with a drop-down menu for where you want the book delivered. You need to be signed on and your PC registered – in the Manage Your Content and Devices area of Amazon, under Your Account.

    Does this work?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

